Frederick SCD celebrates 75 years and recognizes cooperators

Chad, Matthew, and Vivian McCuller accept Secretary’s Citation from MDA Assistant Secretary Hans Schmidt as Cooperator of the Year for Frederick SCD
Mike, Heather, and Katelyn Iager accept the Raymond Keilholtz Memorial Award from Frederick SCD Vice-Chairman Ray Ediger. This award recognizes the most practices installed over the past two years.
Alton ‘Bud’ Esworthy, Jr. and sister-in-law Sue Esworthy are presented the Past Supervisors Award from Catoctin SCD chairman Tod Salisbury for installing the most practices over the past two years in the Catoctin district.
Frederick SCD chairman Bobby Rakestraw receives a Governor’s Citation from MDA Assistant Secretary recognizing the 75th anniversary of the Frederick Soil Conservation District.

The Frederick and Catoctin Soil Conservation Districts held a joint Cooperator Banquet to recognize outstanding cooperators in each district and to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the formation of the Frederick district in 1944. There were 207 in attendance representing both districts including district staff and invited guests, the largest attendance in many years. Each attendee received an anniversary glass as a souvenir of the occasion. Each family also received a cooler bag with the anniversary logo provided by Mid-Atlantic Farm Credit and the Frederick district. Other sponsors for the event were Eddie Mercer Agri-Serivces, Inc. and Frederick County Bank. A brief slideshow recapping the history of the Frederick SCD was shown as well as slide presentations for all the award winners shown above. Historical items and photos were on display during the social hour that preceded the banquet. Special thanks to the office staff for the preparation and presentation of the slideshows.

Comments are closed.