Scholarship application

The Frederick Soil Conservation District is accepting applications for the George Nicholson Memorial Scholarship.  One or more $500 scholarships will be awarded to students who are graduating high school or already attending a community college, four year college or university, vocational technical institute, or short course.  Course of study should be renewable natural resources, land…

2016 Cooperator Banquet

Cooperator of the Year-Teabow Farms, Inc., L-R Rob McAfee(NRCS), Bobby Rakestraw (Frederick SCD Chairman), The James Stup Family, Hans Schmidt (MD Associate Secy of Agriculture) Keilholtz Memorial Award Winner-Eric and Vicky Troxell, L-R Rob McAfee (NRCS), Sharon and Jim Keilholtz (presenting award), Eric and Vicky Troxell and family, Hans Schmidt (MD Associate Secretary of Agriculture),…

Manure Injection Field Day

Field day featuring innovations in minimum and not-till strategies of sub-surface manure injection.  Hosted by the Debaugh family near Boonsboro and presented through the cooperation of the Catoctin and Frederick Soil Conservation Districts, University of MD Extension, Sustainable Chesapeake, and Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources.  See flier for details. manure-injection-flier  

Scholarship winners

2016 George A. Nicholson, Sr. Memorial Scholarship winners. L-R Denny Remsburg, District Manager, Bobby Rakestraw, Chairman-Frederick SCD, Rachel McCuller, scholarship winner, Drew Mandich, scholarship winner, Bobby Myers Frederick SCD scholarship committee chairman, Paul Spurrier, Frederick SCD scholarship committee. Not pictured is Lydia Printz who also received a scholarship.